Further BSAC Training for Divers from Other Agencies

Equivelance ChartMany of our members and instructors began their diving careers with other agencies and have chosen to join SSAC to meet and dive with other people with a passion for UK diving. We are also able to help people who have completed training with other training agencies to transfer and continue training under the BSAC guidelines. There are some slight differences in the content of training courses delivered by other agencies to that of the standard BSAC grades and this can be easily enhanced through a 'cross-over' training course which is designed to cover the differences. If you are already qualified by another agency and wish to continue to develop your skills and knowledge then please speak to the Training Officer or Diving Officer about what additional training you would like to do.

 Information on the BSAC Website on crossing over to a BSAC Club

Refresher Couse

If you've had a break from diving and would like to refresh your skills, we can offer a short session to do this with you. This could be completed in a sheltered environment or at a local dive site.

For more information on the course, please see BSAC's page here.

Further Training

As mentioned above, many of our members have previously completed their diver training with other agencies. What we can offer you is the ability to progress your diver training from the equivalent diver grade of where you are now and take you to the next BSAC diver grade, with the exception of BSAC First Class Diver which is run at a national level. All the other diver grades can be run within the SSAC branch.


Qualification Equivalent To Can Start Training For

PADI Open Water Diver

PADI Advanced Open Water Diver

SAA Open Water Diver

SSI Open Water Diver

SSI Advanced Open Water Diver

BSAC Ocean Diver

BSAC Advanced Ocean Diver


BSAC Sports Diver

PADI Rescue Diver

SAA Club Diver

SSI Advanced Open Water Diver with ‘Stress & Rescue’

BSAC Sports Diver BSAC Dive Leader

PADI Divemaster

SAA Dive Leader

SSI Dive Control Specialist

BSAC Dive Leader BSAC Advanced Diver

CMAS Four Star Diver

FEDAS Buceador Three Estrella

SAA Dive Supervisor

SSAC Master Diver (Second Class Diver)

BSAC Advanced Diver BSAC First Class Diver




Equivelance ChartFor a comprehensive list of equivalent diver qualifications, please click here (BSAC page).